Back to top

NSW Government – Proud Host of the ICC T20 World Cup 2020

The International Cricket Council has confirmed the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia 2020 has been postponed due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. A new date and confirmation of matches will be announced in due course.

The eyes of the world will be on Australia as the 10 best women’s teams and 16 best men’s teams, comprising the global superstars of the game, compete to be crowned world champions.

The NSW Government has been successful in securing 14 matches for Sydney – more than any other Host City.

Upcoming Events

Fan Zone​
Saturday 15 February​
Dawson Mall, Mt Druitt​
Team Welcome​
Wednesday 19 February​
Sydney Opera House Forecourt​
Opening Celebration​
Australia v India​
Friday 21 February​
Sydney Showground Stadium​
Entertainment from 6pm​
Fan Zone​
Sunday 23 February​
Perryman Square, North Cronulla​
Fan Zone​
Thursday 27 February​
Centenary Plaza, Parramatta​
South Africa v Pakistan​
England V West Indies​
Sunday 1 March​
Sydney Showground Stadium​
Pakistan v Thailand​
West Indies v South Africa​
Tuesday 3 March​
Sydney Showground Stadium​
Fan Zone​
Wednesday 4 March​
First Fleet Park, The Rocks​
Semi Finals Double Header​
Thursday 5 March​
Sydney Cricket Ground​
From 3pm​

About the ICC T20 World Cup 2020

The ICC T20 World Cup 2020 comprises two global world-class tournaments in one year – a women’s tournament to be held in February and March, and a men’s tournament, to be held in October and November.

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020

Friday 21 February – Sunday 8 March
10 teams – 23 matches 

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 will take place over two and a half action-packed weeks in February and March 2020 and will see two pools of five teams compete in a round robin Group Stage, with the top two teams from each pool progressing to the Semi Finals.

Sydney will host a total of seven matches during the women’s tournament, including:

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2020

Sunday 18 October – Sunday 15 November 
16 teams – 45 matches 

The Men’s competition will take place in October and November 2020 and provides the broadest opportunity for participation of any ICC event through the qualification system, featuring the best 16 teams in the world. 

Eight teams ranked 9th-16th will commence the tournament with two pools of four competing in a round robin Group Stage, with the top two teams from each pool progressing to join the top eight ranked teams at the Super 12 Stage.

At the Super 12 Stage, two pools of six teams will compete in a round robin featuring 30 matches over 15 days, with the top two from each pool progressing to the semi-finals.

Sydney a total of seven matches during the Men’s tournament at the Sydney Cricket Ground, including:

  • The opening match of the Super 12 Stage
  • A further five Super 12 matches
  • One semi-final match.

Further Information will be published once details relating to fixtures and ticket are announced in early 2019. Fans are encouraged to sign up at for regular updates.

The NSW ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Cricket Legacy Fund

In conjunction with hosting matches in Sydney, the NSW Government has committed to the establishment of a NSW ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Cricket Legacy Fund, providing up to $6 million over three years to support grassroots cricket and regional locations.

The fund will consist of three key focus areas:

  • Cricket infrastructure
  • Females participation programs and resources
  • Hosting elite cricket events in regional NSW.

Applications for the 2020 funding round will be open mid-year.

NSW ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Cricket Legacy Fund

Men's fixtures

Date Match Venue
Saturday 24 October 2020 Opening Super 12 Match: Australia v Pakistan Sydney Cricket Ground
Thursday 29 October 2020 Super 12 Match: Pakistan v TBC Sydney Cricket Ground
Friday 30 October 2020 Super 12 Match: England v South Africa Sydney Cricket Ground
Monday 2 November 2020 Super 12 Match: TBC v TBC Sydney Cricket Ground
Sunday 8 November 2020
(Double Header) 
South Africa v TBC
India v Afghanistan
Sydney Cricket Ground
Wednesday 11 November 2020 Semi Final 1 Sydney Cricket Ground

*Remaining teams to be decided closer to the event